9 Kommentare zu “To have faith in one’s dreams

  1. Indeed it is very interesting for I myself am rather the opposite of your description. Whenever there is a task I can accomplish I dedicate myself to it to an extent of utter perfectionism. In that process, faith is a central component of my dedication: the faith of being capable to succeed when only having worked hard enough for it.
    So if I were to write an article about „the faith in one’s dreams“ I would write a hymn about the willpower of men and about how necessary it is to give everything you got. It would have rather been the opposite direction: if you want to attain your goal you should use your time as efficiant as possible.
    However, my opinion could be primed by the exams which draw near…
    Your ARTicle indicates that you have only seen sad faces after the exam. Tell me, were there some students who were happy about having leaned that much?

    Gefällt 2 Personen

    • Yes. Exactly one person who is a friend of mine. She has about the same mentality with these things as you do 🙂 Everyone else hasn’t really been happy.
      Was that different when your class has taken the exams for the A-levels?

      Gefällt mir

  2. It was undoubtedly different. By writing this I also have to stress that my class used to be the most ambitious one of the whole cohort, not like your class which was in fact infamous for its ability to enervate teachers… Everyone of my classmates was to a more or lesser extent motivated and determined to lern for good grades. Except for two classmates: One guy wasn’t appearing to the exams and one girl had the attitude „I don’t want to have too much stress so I’ll take it easy. Things’ll gonna work out anyway, I can’t change it…“ and ended up having a hangover in the german exam. Her grades were accordingly… And that’s how my class became the best class of the cohort: by determination.
    I believe that is what distinguishes my class from yours: our determination. Determination and being determined to do something implies 3 things:
    1. Self-efficancy: You know that your actions (in this particular case learning) have an impact on your results.
    2. Continuity: You know that this impact of 1. can only be achieved when you work for it. By working for it you get the feeling of becoming better which enhances your self-efficancy.
    3. Motivation (1. and 2. are essentiall components): It would take too long to describe the whole attribution theory of motivation but let’s just say it’s important that you can control the outcome of an event and that success as well as failure is not stable. Knowing this will lead you to work for the unstable success that you can indeed control.
    –> Your classmates might have thought that they have no influence in it. I have always been motivated to learn, even in the case of failure. But as for them, it might be that they weren’t motivated in first place and hence considered their „lost“ time of learning as wasted.
    For me that is wrong! Nothing is more honourable than trying as hard as you can regardless of the outcome. Day by day, we grow with every problem we face and every obstacle we overcome. Now I’d like to ask those people of yours whether this growth is determined by success (as analogy one might then say trees only grow when the sun shines on them) or by the sheer will and engagement with the problem.

    Gefällt 2 Personen

    • Actually, I absolutely agree. Nethertheless, I would suggest to consider the fact that a rested mind is always more apprehensive. So if the always work hard and motivate ourselve we should never forget to take breaks and breaths in between.
      Our mind needs the rest to work on all the stuff we have een thinking and working on. The more stuff we build up for our mind to work through without breaks the more downtime our mind is going to take to get through.
      Determination is just as good as the balance we are able to provide for our mind.

      Gefällt 1 Person

      • Oh, I love discussions like those! Thank you for your insights. I believe there could be no falsification nor intention to falsify your comment, yet I’d like to add a very interesting psychological phenomenon of the self-determination-theory of motivation.
        I guess you know it yourself: you can write longer for your blog than you can work but both activities consume energy and are equally exhausting. Interestingly, the need for breaks is determined by one’s liking of the activity. It does not necessarily depend on the activity’s energy consumption. Therefore you can be more productive and in less need for breaks when you identify youself with the activity. When you start to like the activity. So proclaiming the mind needs a break is in fact a matter of context! A matter of liking, of own recources (which can be enhanced within a short period of time), of interest and so on. The list of confounding variables might be endless 🙂
        Believe me, when I had my first statistic lecture in my university I thought I’d be a goner! And now I actually like statistics. I even make jokes using statistical vocabulary.
        That’s what your classmates could have lacked. The identification with the task of learning in order to achieve the A-levels.

        Gefällt 2 Personen

        • You could try to claim that motivation is like using force to enhance your endurance for several (or one particular) activities.
          Let’s say that might be true. Even then I would consider to distinhuish between the motivation for activies you like and the motivation for activities you don’t like.
          When you like what you do you can use your motivation to overcome fatigue and exhaustion – which e.g. can be cause by the lack of slack. Basically the motivation would make up for the lack of physical energy.
          Other than that, activites you dislike would cause mental fatigue causing you to need more physical energy to balance this difference out. The forced motivation can help you to even out the „extra-need“ of mental capacity but slowly and surely you keep running out from physical energy the more you force yourself to do things you really don’t want to.
          In fact, I would therefore say that there’s good and bad motivation.

          Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

